Space Station Info :: Space Earth :: Physical Characteristics Of Earth

Physical Characteristics Of Earth

The Earth consists of several atmospheric, hydrologic, and mainly geologic layers. Its components are the atmosphere, the hydrosphere, the crust, the mantle, and its core. The biosphere is a tiny layer in this composition and is usually not considered part of the physical layers of the Earth.

The geologic component layers of the Earth are located at the following depths below surface:

0 to 60 km - Lithosphere (locally varies between 5 and 200 km)
0 to 35 km - Crust (locally varies between 5 and 70 km)
35 to 60 km - Uppermost part of mantle
35 to 2890 km - Mantle
100 to 700 km - Asthenosphere
2890 to 5100 km - Outer Core
5100 to 6378 km - Inner Core

Physical Characteristics Of Earth

The earth has four layers: the crust, mantle, inner core, and outer core. The lithosphere is the crust and the upper part of the mantle. The inner core is a solid layer. Earthquakes start at the lithosphere. The crust is a thin rocky skin. The thinnest part of the crust is under the ocean. The ocean floor is heavy, dense rock and the land is lighter, less dense rock. The upper part of the mantle is cooler than the deep mantle. The deep mantle is very hot because it rides on top of the extremely hot outer core and so it causes the mantle and crust to slowly move.The mantle is made of many different rocky materials.

Also See